pregnantpickle

2 weeks to go!

Posted on: July 17, 2011

I am at 38 weeks (+ 2 days) pregnant now, which means we only have about 2 weeks to go before we meet our baby!  I have been “nesting” a little bit, mostly wanting to do laundry and sew.  I still have a couple of cute little dresses to make for the baby (the pieces are all cut out) and I am thinking about making a few onesies or something.  I do wish I was nesting a LITTLE more though, I still don’t want to wash the dishes 🙂

On Wednesday was the last session of the dog training class that I have been helping teach for the past 8 weeks.  I was extremely surprised and delighted that the class threw me a baby shower!  It was very sweet that the students are so excited about the baby, and I even received a few gifts from students from the last class that I’d helped teach.  I got some adorable clothes, nightgowns, hooded towels, baby lotions, and some other goodies!  I was not expecting a baby shower at dog training class, and was a little bit embarassed by the attention.  But Bunny and I really appreciate all of the well-wishes and the gifts for our baby.

On Thursday we had a midwife appointment, which was fairly standard once again.  We did find out the results of my Group B Strep test which was taken last week.  Unfortunately it was positive, which means that I have to be given IV antibiotics during labor to keep the baby from getting sick.  Group B Strep is a weird bacteria thing that I don’t really understand very well, so I have stolen this description from Group B Strep International:

What Is Group B Strep?

Group B strep (GBS) is a bacteria naturally found in the digestive tract and
birth canal of 1 in 4 pregnant women. These women “carry” or are “colonized”
with GBS. However, GBS can come and go at any time so each pregnancy can be
different. Babies can be infected by GBS before birth and up to 6 months of age
because of their underdeveloped immune systems.

GBS most commonly causes infection in the blood (sepsis), the fluid and
lining of the brain (meningitis), and lungs (pneumonia). It can cause babies to
be miscarried, stillborn, or die after being born. Some GBS survivors have
permanent handicaps such as blindness, deafness, mental retardation, and
cerebral palsy.

But basically, I didn’t “catch” GBS, it’s naturally occurring, but it can be passed on to the baby and cause serious health problems.  However, since I will be treated with antibiotics it will be more of an inconveniece than anything else.  Oh well.

And now for the BABY CHECKLIST!

All the things that need to happen before she’s born:

Nursery finished?: Just about, Bunny is working on a bookcase but everything else is done

Crucial baby stuff acquired?: CHECK!

Stockpile of food from Costco?: CHECK!

Pet sitting complete?: 5 days to go!

Hospital bag packed?: Not yet.  What am I waiting for?

Things are going very well overall, and it’s mostly just a waiting game at this point!

Pickle

 

 

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Mr WordPress: Hi, this is a comment.To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts' comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Categories

